Ahmedabad University - A Liberal Education

Regulatory & Institutional Compliance

Establishment of the University under the Gujarat Private Universities Act, 2009

Ahmedabad University (AU) was established in July 2009. It is founded by Ahmedabad Education Society (AES), a Society established in 1935, which is one of the most reputed education societies in Western India. It is a private, non-profit University established under Section 3(1) of the Gujarat Private Universities Act, 2009.

View Recognition


University Grants Commission

University Grants Commission, in its letter dated 28th July 2010 F.No. 8-13/2010(CPP-I/PU), has notified that Ahmedabad University, Navrangpura (Gujarat) has been established by an Act (No. 8 of 2009) of State Legislature of Gujarat as a State Private University, and is empowered to award degrees as specified by the University Grants Commission under section 22 of the University Grants Commission Act 1956.

View Recognition


Department of Scientific and Industrial Research (SIRO)

Department of Scientific and Industrial Research (DSIR), Ministry of Science and Technology, The Government of India has registered Ahmedabad University as a Research Institute under its Research Programmes.

View Recognition


Foreign Contribution (Regulation) Act (FCRA), 2010

The Government of India, Ministry of Home Affairs has Registered Ahmedabad University under Foreign Contribution (Regulation) Act, 2010.

View Recognition


University Code of Conduct