Educational Mobility in Asia

In the Asian context, higher education and migration both conjure images of dis-placement, typically between sites of backwardness and modernity, and lack and opportunity. The actual mobility projects of people—whether these involve spatial, social, and/or existential im/mobilities—are rarely a linear movement from the backward to a static modern. Instead, scholarship alerts us to the elaborate infrastructures, intense affects, and myriad human and technological networks that move people as well as the contradictions that mark movement. Hope intermingles with despair, freedoms arise through the strategic deployment of patriarchal discourses, and movement is often accompanied by stuckedness.

It is important to note that while both higher education and migration have long histories in the region, the recent past has seen rapid urbanisation, the massification of higher education, and unprecedented flows of mobility in many parts of Asia. This workshop will explore contexts in Asia where higher education and migration collapse into each other. It aims to curate a comparative perspective on educational mobility in the region. Panelists will consider the mobility desires, migration infrastructures, and conflictual becomings that situate and animate youth and their families. How do gendered people embedded in allegedly “traditional” family and community ties make and unmake themselves, places, “others”, and the relationships between these? How are educational mobilities emergent in contemporary political economic formations similar to and different from earlier flows and frictions, and what are the implications for the region?

The workshop is organised through the Futures of Mobility network at the Centre for Inter-Asian Research, Ahmedabad University.
 
Organisers with their area focus:

CHINA: Willy Sier, Utrecht University, Netherlands
INDIA: Leya Mathew, Ahmedabad University
PHILIPPINES: Yasmin Ortiga, Singapore Management University
SINGAPORE: Yang Peidong, National Institute of Education Singapore

Date: June 23-24, 2022 (Thursday and Friday)
Timings: 11:30 am - 2:30 pm IST | 8 am -11 am CEST | 4 pm - 7 pm AEST | 2 pm - 5 pm SGT

Thursday June 23, 2022
11:15 - 11:30 IST Leya Mathew
Tejaswini Niranjana
Introductions and welcome
Affects and Aesthetics of Mobile Femininities
11:30 - 11:50 IST
08:00 - 08:20 CEST
16:00 - 16:20 AEST
Anne Kukuczka 
Freie Universität; University of Zurich
Embodied Life Trajectories – Tibetan Women’s Aspirations and Spatial Practices of Self-making Between neidi and the TAR
11:50 - 12:10 IST
08:20 - 08:40 CEST
16:20 - 16:40 AEST
Renu Singh
Ambedkar University, Delhi 
The Practice of Everyday: Hostels as Spaces of Friendship and Care Network (in Allahabad, India)
12:10 - 12:30 IST
08:40 - 09:00 CEST
16:40 - 17:00 AEST
Fran Martin
University of Melbourne
Comments
12:30 - 12:45 IST    Open Discussion
12:45 - 13:00 IST   Break [Zoom link open for general discussion, connecting]
Working im/mobility
17:30 – 17:50 AEST
09:30 – 09:50 CEST
03:30 – 03:50 ET
Jane Dyson, Craig Jeffrey
University of Melbourne
Degrees of freedom: Women and Higher Education in the High Himalayas
03:50 – 04:10 ET
09:50 – 10:10 CEST
17:50 – 18:10 AEST
Michelle Zhang
Columbia University Teachers College
Buying time: How Chinese International Students Sought Opportunities for Happenstance During the COVID-19 Pandemic
10:10 – 10:30 CEST
04:10 – 04:30 ET
18:10 – 18:30 AEST
Xiang Biao
Max Planck Institute for Social Anthropology
Comments
14:00 – 14:15 IST   Open Discussion
14:15 – 14:30 IST   Break/ General discussion
 [Zoom link open for general discussion, connecting]
Friday, June 24, 2022
The Political Economy of Higher Education: Education for mobility
11:30 – 11:50 IST
08:00 – 08:20 CEST
14:00 – 14:20 SGT
Leya Mathew
Ahmedabad University
Designing Mobility: Producing the Centre in the Periphery (India)
11:50 – 12:10 IST
08:20 – 08:40 CEST
14:20 – 14:40 SGT
Yasmin Ortiga
Singapore Management University
Unlikely Faces in Unlikely Places: Student Migration to the Periphery (Philippines)
12:10 – 12:30 IST
08:40 – 09:00 CEST
14:40 – 15:00 SGT
Yang Peidong 
National Institute of Education Singapore
Comments
12:30 – 12:45 IST   Open Discussion
12:45 – 13:00 IST   Break [Zoom link open for general discussion, connecting]
Navigating the “rural”
09:30 – 09:50 CEST
14:30 – 14:50 ICT
15:30 – 15:50 CST
Willy Sier
Utrecht University, Netherlands
Gendering Educational Mobility: Making Wives and Mothers in China
09:50 – 10:10 CEST
14:50 – 15:10 ICT
15:50 – 16:10 CST
Jessica Garber
Boston University
Moving to the City: Perceptions of How “Rural” University Migrants Navigate Higher Education in Phnom Penh
10:10 – 10:30 CEST
15:10 – 15:30 ICT
16:10 – 16:30 CST
Yan Hairong
Tsinghua Institute for Advanced Study in Humanities and Social Sciences
Comments
14:00 – 14:15 IST   Open Discussion
14:15 – 14:30 IST   Break/ General discussion
 [Zoom link open for general discussion, connecting]

Please register here to attend the workshop