Amarlal H Kalro

Professor Emeritus and Former Provost
PhD (University of Minnesota)
Areas of interest
Operations Research, Operations Management

Professor Amarlal H Kalro is an educationist with 50 years of experience in academic institutions in India and abroad.  He has contributed extensively to educational policy and establishment of educational institutions. He is presently Professor Emeritus, Ahmedabad University and Academic Adviser, Ahmedabad Education Society.

He was the first Provost of Ahmedabad University from July 2009 to September 30, 2014. He was a member of the Second Administrative Reforms Commission (2005-2009) Government of India. He was Director, Indian Institute of Management, Kozhikode from November 1998 to February 2004. Prior to that, he was Assistant Professor - Professor (1970-1998), Dean (1984-1987), and Chairman, Ravi J Mathai Centre for Educational Innovation (1994-1998) at Indian Institute of Management Ahmedabad.  He was Assistant Professor at the University of Minnesota (1969-¬1970).

Professor Kalro obtained his BTech (Hons.) degree in Electrical Engineering from Indian Institute of Technology, Kharagpur in 1963, and his MS and PhD in Industrial Engineering from the University of Minnesota, Minneapolis, USA in 1967 and 1969 respectively. He is a recipient of several scholastic and teaching excellence awards. His research publications are in the areas of OR modeling, inventory management, organization behavior, irrigation and water management, management of educational institutions and institution building in reputed International and Indian Journals. He has also co-authored three books and has extensive consulting experience with public and private sector organizations, State and Central Governments, and International Agencies such as ILO, ICA, SIDA and Ford Foundation. He has taught in programs in Japan, Kenya and Sri Lanka, and has been a visiting faculty at Colombo University and several IIMs. He has held various positions in Academic Administration at IIMA, including Chairman PGP; Chairman FDP; Chairman Committee for Future Directions; Member, Faculty Development and Evaluation Committee.

He is a Fellow and former President of the Operational Research Society of India. He is also a past President of Ahmedabad Management Association and Dr Vikram Sarabhai - AMA Memorial Trust and has been Member of the Central Council of the National Productivity Council. He has served as Director, Board of Directors, Bharat Petroleum Corporation Limited (August 2003 – February 2010); Director, Board of Directors, Bharat Oman Refineries Limited (July 2008-July 2014); Director, Board of Directors Torrent Power SEC Limited (February 2003 – December 2006) and Chairman of their respective Audit Committees,  and as a Member on the Governing Bodies of academic institutions including Indian Institute of Management Kozhikode, Indian Institute of Management Ahmedabad, Indian Institute of Information Technology and Management Kerala, Institute for Management in Government Kerala, National Institute of Educational Planning and Administration New Delhi and NMIMS University Mumbai. He was Chairman, Governing Council, Calorx School (an International Baccalaureate School), Ahmedabad.  He has been a Member of several specially constituted committees of Government of India, Government of Gujarat and Government of Kerala. He has served as Member, Southern Regional Advisory Committee, IDBI; Member, Governing Council, Kerala Education Grid; Special Invitee, Coir Board; Member, All India Board of Management Studies, Member, South Western Regional Committee and Member, Planning Board for Technical Education, All India Council for Technical Education. He was Associate Editor of OPSEARCH, Founder Editor-in- Chief of AIMS e-Journal, Member Editorial Board, Journal of Educational Planning and Administration and several other journals.

He is presently  Member, Board of Management, ICFAI University, Dehradun; Member, Governing Body, ICFAI University, Himachal; Member, Governing Council, Tolani Institute of Management Studies, Adipur; Member Governing Council, TKM Institute of Management Studies, Kerala; Trustee and Member, Gandhidham Collegiate Board, Adipur; Member, Academic Council, Amrita Vishwavidyapeetham, Coimbatore; Member, Governing Council, Institute of Management Technology, Ghaziabad; Chairman, South Asian Quality System Committee, Association of Management Development Institutions in South Asia; Member, Academic Advisory Committee, National Board of Accreditation and Co-  Chair of the Management Group;
Professor Kalro received “The Life Time Achievement Award” from The Indian Society of Operations Management (December 2006) and awards from Ahmedabad Management Association, Ahmedabad (February 2007) and School of Planning and Architecture, New Delhi (April 2009) for his “Contributions to Management”. He received the Dewang Mehta Award for Outstanding Contribution to Education (November 2014) and an Award for Outstanding Contribution to Education from Global Education Conference 2015.



Your browser is out-of-date!

For a richer surfing experience on our website, please update your browser.Update my browser now!