Recognition and Accreditation

Ahmedabad University (AU) was established in July 2009. It is founded by Ahmedabad Education Society (AES), a Society established in 1935, which is one of the best most reputed education societies in western India. It is a private, non-profit University established under Section 3(1) of the Gujarat Private Universities Act, 2009.
View Recognition

University Grants Commission, vide its letter dated 28th July 2010 F.No. 8-13/2010(CPP-I/PU), has notified that Ahmedabad University, Navrangpura (Gujarat) has been established by an Act (No. 8 of 2009) of State Legislature of Gujarat as a State Private University and is empowered to award degree as specified by the UGC under section 22 of the UGC Act 1956.
View Recognition

Department of Scientific and Industrial Research (DSIR), Ministry of Science and Technology, The Government of India has registered Ahmedabad University as a Research Institute under its Research Programmes.
View Recognition

The current list on UGC’s website includes the name of Ahmedabad University under Section 2(f) and Section 3 of UGC Act.
View Recognition

Letter from the Principal Secretary, Government of Gujarat.
View Recognition

The Government of India, Ministry of Home Affairs has Registered Ahmedabad University under Foreign Contribution (Regulation) Act, 2010.
View Recognition

Ahmedabad University has been registered with the Association of Indian Universities.
View AIU’s Member Listing

Ahmedabad University has applied for accreditation to National Assessment and Accreditation Council (NAAC).NAAC is an autonomous institution set up by the University Grants Commission (UGC) for accreditation and grading of Indian Universities, colleges and programmes.

Anti-Ragging Policy

The university has strictly prohibited ragging and will take any required actions to prevent and deter against the recurrence of such incidences. Ragging of and among students of any form, at any place is prohibited and will not be tolerated. To learn more, please read the Anti-Ragging Policy. Any student of Ahmedabad University found indulging and / or abetting any form of ragging shall face strict disciplinary action, including the possible debarring of such students from taking admissions in any institutions of higher learning in the country.

For concerns or complaints regarding ragging, please email

Grievance Redressal

We care about the well-being of our students and faculty and believe in giving proper attention to any grievances. For more information please read the University Grievance Redressal Policy. Students may submit grievances by filling out the following form (Grievance Redressal Form) and submitting it to Head / Director / Dean of the concerned institute.

Women’s Development Cell

With the intention to equalize genders, and in accordance with the UGC and the Supreme Court of India, Ahmedabad University has set up the Women's Development Cell (WDC). The WDC organizes various activities and awareness programmes relevant to our female student body and faculty. Activities include self-defense classes, female health awareness, anemia awareness, gender sensitization, emotional hygiene and more. We also provide a platform for women to share and discuss gender related issues as well as address grievances.

Prevention of Sexual Harassment

Ahmedabad University has a zero-tolerance policy against sexual harassment, which is widely condemned as a form of human rights violation, an infringement on life and liberty and a grave form of gender-based discrimination. Sexual harassment of any level is a punishable offence.

As per the provisions of the Sexual Harassment of Women at Workplace (Prevention, Prohibition and Redressal) Act, 2013, an Internal Complaints Committee has been constituted. In case of any clarifications or complaints, please contact the following:

View Government of India's Handbook on Sexual Harassment
Your browser is out-of-date!

For a richer surfing experience on our website, please update your browser.Update my browser now!